Adding a Rear DC Outlet to the LR3


My LR3 (Discovery 3 to my friends overseas) is a Base Model 5 seater. As such, it was not furnished with a rear 12 volt DC power outlet. This feature is rather important for my RC Sailplane hobby, as I need to be able to charge my planes and transmitters while they are being transported in the rear of the truck. I found some unconnected wiring harnesses stuffed into the left side rear panel of the truck, and figured that one of them was most likely for the power receptacle. After communicating a bit with my local LR dealership’s part manager, the 7 seater’s DC outlet was ordered and shipped. Part Number: YXW500030PVJ “Socket Assembly”.

Connecting the new power socket to the existing harness

The install was straightforward. The hardest part was finding the purple and black wiring harness. It’s tucked WAY up in there, elbow deep. It is accessed from the removable plastic hatch on the lower left hand side, right below the dummy cap. Once everything is connected, you have to very firmly set the socket into place. I whacked mine into place with the palm of my hand two or three times before it was driven home properly. Be sure your alignment is right, because it will not be easy to correct later on!

Click on a photo below to enlarge the image. These are the simple steps involved in this modifcation/upgrade:

pop the cap finding the right harness making the connection almost done everything is in place It works!

About lr3tips

This blog is a free service to the Land Rover community. It is my hope to turn this site over to those who are pushing the envelope with what LR3's can do, and are willing to share their knowledge.
This entry was posted in Land Rover, LR3 Tips & Help, Mods. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adding a Rear DC Outlet to the LR3

  1. Paul Reyes says:

    Hey Nathan,
    So stoked to see you wheeling your LR3. I’m an X SCLR memeber that’s recently relocated to CO so hopefully we’ll get a chance to meet at the Rally in Sept. I’ve seen your posts on may boards and I’ve got to tell you, you’re right on the money w/the LR3. We have one and it will kill just about anything off road. My classic has a 3″ lift w/ tru-tracs and I’d be embarrased to put them to a test side by side. (I love my Classic so much I could never do that to him…).
    Hope to see/meet you in Sept. and if you ever decide to do a family run out towards CO lemme know.
    Cheers,
    Paul Reyes

  2. nwoods says:

    Hi Paul, thanks for your kind words. I hope to go to Colorado sooner or later. My wife went to CSU and wants very much to go back to Colorado Springs to visit. I guess you are the Paul that will be “adopting” Mike Jacobs and getting him acclimated.

    Bad Roads bring Good People.

Leave a comment