Adding Leg Room to the LR3


The human model Land Rover uses to design the front seat leg room is about 6′-3″ tall, or so one would assume based on how it feels. For those of us with a bit more generous proportions, more leg room is essential. With the help of Frank from Franks Fab Shop, I extended my leg room by off-setting the seat rails 2.5″ rearward. This was done very simply by making extension plates that mounted on top of the existing seat supports, and bolting the seat rails to them. There is a plate both front and rear, on each side, four in total. Now, even at 6′-7″ tall, my knees no longer rub against the front dashboard. It’s quite wonderful.

modified seat rail

Detail photos. Click to enlarge:

front rail front rail, side view rear rail

About lr3tips

This blog is a free service to the Land Rover community. It is my hope to turn this site over to those who are pushing the envelope with what LR3's can do, and are willing to share their knowledge.
This entry was posted in Land Rover, LR3 Tips & Help, Mods. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adding Leg Room to the LR3

  1. Dave Stanich says:

    I also need more legroom – are these for sale anywhere? any help would be appreciated. If not a couple of questions – on the front mount you have a flush mount attachement to the seat post is that needed for clearance issues or was it just a design element-would a regular bolt work. Also what kind of hardware was used on the back plate particularly the front mounting of the real plate that cannot be seen. Any clearance issues. Why did you use two separate plates on each side – would one long plate from front to back work? I have talked with a couple of seat repair shops and no one will give this a try for me so any info would be appreciated Here in Minnesota there are not many car customization places.

  2. nwoods says:

    Hello David. They aren’t for sale in a traditional sense, but I’m sure I can have the fabricator that made mine make a few more. I would anticipate the cost to be about $200- 250.

    I am not sure a regular bolt would work. My fabricator used a special rivot/button thing. I have never seen them before or since. He can provide them in what ever he fabs for you if you wish.

    The back plate is exactly the same as the front. I have no clearance issues as they are now. The seats travel smoothly and fully the full reach of the origional rail, it’s just 2.5″ farther back as a starting point. Why were two plates used? Don’t know. It never occurred to us not to! One long plate might work, but just requires more material.

    Most fabricators will not alter the factory seat mount because of liablity issues. I know a couple guys in Minnesota that can fab these for you, but it would probably just be easier to use my guy in Santa Ana, CA. Otherwise, try Scott or John at RoverSpecialties.com (jewendt@comcast.net)

  3. Omar says:

    Wonder if it would still be possible to get the photos of this mod? I’m in a similar predicament

Leave a comment